A Day in My Digital Life

I believe that my digital life is average for my age, and most likely comparable to my peers. It usually begins when I wake up in the morning, I use my newsfeed on Instagram and Twitter kind of like a newspaper. I like to refresh on Instagram, Twitter, and Snapchat to see anything I’ve missed from the night before. These are the three main platforms I use; I don’t use Facebook which might be a little different from other people my age. I also use Spotify daily. I’m always listening to music, whether it be while I’m working or driving or anything like that. Recently, I’ve noticed the increased use of digital through my social circle as well. For example, even when we are looking for a restaurant, we will use Yelp to help decide on what’s best. It’s sort of unique to see how much we value other people’s opinions on simple things like the best place to get french toast.

Throughout the day, I will periodically check a few apps, mostly being Instagram. I usually just scroll through Instagram and like other people’s posts and things like that. I rarely post actual posts on either Instagram or Twitter. However, recently I have started to post Instagram stories a lot more frequently. I used to post Snapchat stories, but now I rarely do. I usually post once every few weeks on Instagram, but I think the introduction of stories has made me more present on the app. It’s fascinating to see the rise and fall of certain social media platforms, as I know Snapchat used to be the most used by my friends and me, but now Instagram has started to take over that as well.

The content I post is mostly scenery or pictures with my friends. I also like to share current music I’m listening to, and now Spotify has an in-app feature that sends the song your listening to directly to you Instagram story, which I think is really cool.

I do enjoy my digital life as I believe it’s an easy and exciting way to keep up with friends and family. I know this last semester I was more active since I was in New York, and it was nice to be able to keep up with my friends’ trips abroad despite being so far away. Social media definitely has its ups and downs, as I know, sometimes it’s hard to disconnect, but I believe that it benefits a lot of people’s life by making it so easy to connect with others.

2 thoughts on “A Day in My Digital Life

  1. Great post! We are going to be discussing how our digital social circles influence our shopping behavior and decision making process.

    Like

Leave a comment